Eight steps for the PCI DSS certification

Eight steps for the PCI DSS certification

The PCI DSS standard is a set of security requirements for the cardholder data that are stored, transmitted and processed in the information infrastructures of organizations.

The primary objectives of the PCI DSS standard are to ensure the network infrastructure security and protect the cardholder data. These data are hunted by the intruders in order to embezzle the funds. That’s why, the PCI DSS standard focuses on the card data privacy.

The PCI DSS standard requirements apply to the trading companies, banks, service providers of all kinds, retail stores, call centers, payment gateways and other enterprises and organizations that deal with the processing, transmitting and storing of cardholder data.

You need to make eight steps towards the PCI DSS certification:

Step 1

Previously you need to fill in the questionnaire for selecting and evaluating the certification procedure. It helps our specialists to understand what exactly you need and to determine the certification cost.

The first step results are as follows: selected PCI DSS certification procedure, final price, stages and timescales.

Step 2

To undergo certification according to the PCI DSS standard requirements, you must sign an Agreement between your company and the IT Specialist company.

After signing the agreement, you need to make a prepayment at the rate of 50% of the total amount to the IT Specialist company account.

Step 3

Specialists and technical experts carry out the preliminary technical analysis.

It includes many different activities. As a result, you receive a detailed report which contains a list of non-compliances with the PCI DSS standard requirements. The report will also provide recommendations for their elimination.

Step 4

There is an elimination of all non-compliances mentioned in the report. It is conducted in close coordination between your and our specialists. A flexible schedule of mutual cooperation will be developed for convenience.

Step 5

At this stage we have a final check or certification audit. In fact, this is the final checkout for compliance with all the PCI DSS standard requirements.

According to the results, your company receives the detailed electronic report and certificate confirming compliance with all the PCI DSS standard requirements.

Step 6

There is an official registration of your PCI DSS certificate by an authorized auditor. Your company pays off the remaining 50% of the total amount specified in the Agreement.

Step 7

You receive a certificate of compliance with the PCI DSS standard in paper form with the ink stamps and signatures. You can receive the certificate in the company office, or it can be delivered to your office by express delivery service.

Step 8

Your PCI DSS certificate is valid for 12 months. After 10 months, i.e. 2 months before the expiry date, you need to contact us  to renew your PCI DSS certificate for the next year. When you reapply, the procedure is simplified. And cost of the company’s services is significantly reduced.

“IT Specialist” – G+


Get a free consultation with our experts

Read more

Read the article
Who needs the PCI DSS certificate?
Read the article
More about eight steps for the PCI DSS certification
Read the blog